bloggin' all things brownsville

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Congressman Ortiz Nominated to Transportation and Infrastructure Committee

Congressman Solomon Ortiz has been nominated to the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, according to the Speaker of the House Web site.

The House Democratic Steering Committee began its nominations to various committees with the 111th Congress beginning today.

Rep. Nancy Pelosi was elected Speaker of the House by a vote of 255-174 this afternoon during the opening session of the 111th Congress.

Speaker Pelosi said that “with the talent and intellect of this distinguished group of Members, the 111th Congress will take America in a New Direction that restores our economic security, creates jobs, and invests in America’s future. The full Democratic Caucus must still approve the assignments and is expected to do so soon.

The Steering Committee approved the following new Committee members:


Congressman Kurt Schrader of Oregon
Congresswoman Debbie Halvorson of Illinois
Congresswoman Kathy Dahlkemper of Pennsylvania

Armed Services

Congressman Glenn Nye of Virginia
Congresswoman Chellie Pingree of Maine
Congressman Larry Kissell of North Carolina
Congressman Martin Heinrich of New Mexico
Congressman Frank Kratovil of Maryland
Congressman Eric Massa of New York
Congressman Bobby Bright of Alabama

Education & Labor

Congresswoman Marcia Fudge of Ohio
Congressman Jared Polis of Colorado
Congressman Paul Tonko of New York
Resident Commissioner Pedro Pierluisi of Puerto Rico

Energy & Commerce

Congressman Peter Welch of Vermont

Financial Services

Congressman Walt Minnick of Idaho
Congressman John Adler of New Jersey
Congresswoman Mary Jo Kilroy of Ohio
Congressman Steve Driehaus of Ohio
Congresswoman Suzanne Kosmas of Florida
Congressman Alan Grayson of Florida
Congressman James Himes of Connecticut
Congressman Gary Peters of Michigan
Congressman Dan Maffei of New York

Foreign Affairs

Congressman Gerry Connolly of Virginia

Homeland Security

Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick of Arizona
Congressman Ben Lujan of New Mexico

Natural Resources

Delegate Gregorio Sablan of the Mariana Islands

Transportation & Infrastructure

Congressman Solomon Ortiz of Texas
Congressman Phil Hare of Illinois
Congressman John Boccieri of Ohio
Congressman Mark Schauer of Michigan
Congresswoman Betsy Markey of Colorado
Congressman Parker Griffith of Alabama
Congressman Michael McMahon of New York
Congressman Tom Perriello of Virginia
Congresswoman Dina Titus of Nevada
Congressman Harry Teague of New Mexico

Ways & Means

Congresswoman Linda Sanchez of California

For more information, go to



Blogger BobbyWC said...

Infrastructure - this is good for his area. Hopefully he will remember Brownsville is part of his district.

Maybe our leadership can get the feds to help pay for a new airport on the corner of 77 and east.

Bobby WC

Tuesday, January 06, 2009  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

That might work Bobby provided that we could backfill four miles of the Rio Grande River AND all the property that isn't stolen by Juliet is available to be stolen by the city for an airport.

Tuesday, January 06, 2009  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home